A Conversation Amongst The Starlight White

The unbalanced glass of whiskey rested precariously on the arm of his beloved deck chair, the moon sparkles glimmering on the surface of the glass..

He ran his finger around the edge of the glass, feeling the slightly jagged chip on the rim, the result of a little too much exuberance while washing up…

His eyes met those of Mr Dickens who nestled in the deck chair opposite him. Eyes listening while they too, reflected the moonlight, the way they always did in these moments amongst the rare species of flowers in his beloved garden…

Breathing the sweet scent of the Starlight White deeply, he opened his eyes and pushed his glasses back on his nose, the deep intake of scent having disrupted their stability slightly…

The silence broke…

I get my spiritual fix from being in nature with a music soundtrack…

He looked briefly at Mr Dickens…

Hmmmm, yes…lost in the moment and floating in nature and music…

I’m in touch with my surroundings. When I’m out walking I often just touch everything…just connect with where I am…grounding me…

The circada song hummed through the white petals of the Starlight heads…

I get like that, just absorbed with my environment. Although I love Iceland, and Finland was amazing in winter with the landscape and atmosphere…I love Spring and Autumn…

Mr Dickens just blinked intently…

I love the explosions of green, and the multitude of browns and oranges which float through Autumn…

He stroked his bristly chin…

You see Mr Dickens, I’m not built for city life…everything moves too fast & there’s not enough time is spent looking at the trees, the river or up at the sky…

He sipped from the glass


In my mind I frequently stand on the top of a mountain or edge of a cliff with my arms outstretched, feeling the breeze and the grass under my feet, between my toes…feeling what it is to be alive…

A faraway look entered his eyes…

I used to as a child, then a young man…

He adjusted his posture in his faithful deck chair…

I used to make the time to pause, whilst the real world rushes around me like salmon in a river. But then as my days grew shorter so did my time to pause…being replaced by a scream…

The gentle night breeze blew through surrounding flowers, composing an ever so gentle symphony around the companions…

It’s still with me now, Dickens…

Mr Dickens rubbed his face…

Screaming in me is the desire to be soaring above the clouds or running through a field…my heart and spirit demands to be free…pulling me skyward…

He took another sip…

Amongst the clouds, Bertie…

Looking up…

Up there…

Lost in some resurfaced memory he distractedly topped up his glass with whiskey…

I’m very much an ‘in the moment’ type of a person…which is hard in a world which lives either in the past or the future…I rarely make plans, because each passing moment and choice changes a situation…

Mr Dickens settled into the chair a little more…

I used to fervently believe that…but as a person gets older, they have to re-evaluate and realise they can’t always live this way and be any sort of person, or have any sort of fulfilling life…

He fixed a look at his companion as Mr Dickens scratched his ear…

For stability in a life, living without hard plans isn’t a way to achieve that. Living in the moment is about being aware of where you are in any moment of the day or night…realising the sun is shining, the rain is falling, the flowers are sharing their scent…just feeling the ground beneath your feet, or the breeze on your cheeks and knowing you’re alive…

A satisfied smile of recognition spread over his lips…

Connecting your energy to your surroundings in that moment, like holding onto life, the world as it rushes around and spins through time, connecting to the ground beneath your feet gives a person the briefest of grasps of  control as it spins…a universal pause…

As if to illustrate the point the Starlight White emanated it’s perpetual scent, the effects smelt and not seen…

and when a person passes I believe that the energy in your body just dissipates back into the universe and finds itself in anything which lives…but it doesn’t all end up in the same place it spreads in random places and living things…from the stars to leaves to animals to people…the body just goes back to nourishing the earth…this leads to my theory of the fractured soulmate…

Mr Dickens blinked again before getting out of his seat and slowly sauntering inside…

He took a sip of whiskey from his half-full chipped glass…

Another time…

Leave a Reply

